Duke of Edinburgh Award

Fulfilling our Round Square IDEALS of Adventure, Leadership and Service is The Duke of Edinburgh's Award, available to students from Year 9 and up.

Valued greatly by universities and employers alike, The Duke of Edinburgh's Award develops pupils' confidence, resilience and determination.  There are three levels to complete - Bronze, Silver and Gold, with four core sections (or five for the Gold Award).

These sections are:

  • Volunteering
  • Physical
  • Skills
  • Expedition
  • Residential (for the Gold Award only)

Many students have taken on a new challenge for their award, such as learning a new skill or taking part in a new activity, and continued to take part even after completing their Award because they found an unknown talent in themselves, or simply found something new that they really enjoy doing. 

Of course, perhaps the biggest challenge is the expedition.  A two-, or three-night camping trip, utilising skills of self-sufficiency, teamwork, communication, navigation and leadership. Yet, our girls still manage to find a way to make this fun - as can be seen in the video below, created as part of the Skills section of the Award!

You can find out more about The Duke of Edinburgh's Award on their website.