Print Page

1962 – Present

1962: A new school for girls opens its doors to 50 students. The school is the project of Mrs Bee Mansell, who wanted girls to enjoy the same public school education as provided to boys. The Headmistress is Miss Brenda Hancock.

1966: Lady Harriet Bligh, sister of the 11th Earl, is elected as Guardian (Head Girl).

1966: The Tutorial Building is opened.

1971: Brooke House is opened by Margaret Thatcher MP

1972: Miss Jill Hanson becomes Headmistress

1979: Sir Robert Mayer opens the Music Wing. Sir Robert was a major supporter of music and young musicians and Cobham Hall was delighted to welcome him to the school in his 100th year.

1981: Mr Christopher Dixon becomes Headmaster.

July 1984: Lady Howe building opened by Lady Howe.

1985: Mrs Susan Cameron becomes Headmistress.

1987: A grand Silver Jubilee Ball celebrates Cobham Hall’s 25th anniversary.

1988: Bligh House is opened by Lady Harriet Bligh.

July 1989: The Activities Centre is opened by Virginia Wade.

1989: Mrs Rosalind McCarthy becomes Headmistress.

1990: Susan Hampshire opens the centre for learning support which bears her name.

2000: Susan Hampshire returns to celebrate the 10th anniversary of the Susan Hampshire Centre.

2003: Mrs Helen Davy becomes Headmistress.

November 2003: Tenison-Smith Studio Theatre is opened by Carey Tenison-Smith, former Head of Drama.

March 2006: New Fitness Suite opened by David Grant MRCVS, TV vet from the Animal Hospital.

September 2008: Mr Paul Mitchell becomes Headmaster.

September 2009: Introduction of the International Baccalaureate Diploma Programme at Cobham Hall.